They are worth it

Being a Mom is hard. We do selfless things on a daily basis. Sometimes that means we forget to feed ourselves. We get thrown up on, Dr booboo’s, and wipe snotty noses. We hear LOTS of crying and whining. We are used as a target practice. We could go 3+ days without showering, because we are just so tired or busy. We answer “Why?” a lot and we sometimes don’t have the answers. We question our worth. We are judged in the most hypocritical ways. We are pulled at in more directions than one. We long for alone time, and when we get it we secretly miss our kiddos.

All of that to say, it’s all so incredibly rewarding. When you finally find the solution to their crying or something they will actually eat, it becomes worth the trial and errors. When you see them reply nicely to a stranger or simply listen to you, it becomes worth repeating yourself. When they make a mess while using their imagination or even help you clean up the mess they just made, it becomes worth the “Clean up” song. When they finally get a full night’s sleep, it becomes worth all the late night feeds and rocking/bouncing sessions. When they give us a full belly giggle, it becomes worth all the peek-a-boo’s (had to throw that cute one in there). Then, they give away their last snack or even share a toy and we feel like we have successfully done our job.

IMG_8932.JPG

I would’ve never thought I’d be experiencing the #momlife to a toddler at 22 years old (I’ll be 23 next month). Our life is no where near perfect. I’m still waiting for some of those days to come my way. One thing I do know for sure, though: You can never truly guess what kind of day is going to be thrown at you.. Actually, it’s sometimes hard to predict what’s going to happen in the next 5 minutes. Motherhood is a wild rollercoaster ride. Once you’re on it, you can’t get off. You have to ride it all the way through. So, you take it one steep hill at a time, bare knuckle that lap bar, and listen to your gut when you’re falling down.

In the end, I believe, if I’m doing what is best for my kid, and staying confident in my motherly instincts, then I’m doing my best. She needs me to be strong and patient. While, I need her to be healthy, honest, and happy. If either of those things are off balance or out of wack, it is important to remember not to go off the deep end. It will either level out or find it’s way back into place.

It could take something as simple as an “I love you, Mommy!” πŸ’˜

IMG_7869

9 thoughts on “They are worth it

  1. Brittani..that is so well said. You are a wonderful mommy!!! Your love for her through pictures and words tells it all. I LOVE YOU BUNCHES sweetie!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. IM SO proud of you Brittany from the young girl singing at our church with your beautiful voice to a wife and a mommy. You express your love for your family so well with the pictures you share and the quality time you all spend together… priceless memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this and the two of you ❀️ Your creativity always soars, so glad you have Mommie friends to share it with! Keep it all saved up, I’ll have one some day πŸ™ˆβ˜ΊοΈ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very well said. Every memory I have of you and Bri only seems like yesterday. No one can ever take that from a “mom”. Yes,it’s not easy being a mom and some choices you may make may not always be the best choice. But I obviously did a great job with you. Seeing you raise my first granddaughter and the woman you have become is such an award. I love you so much ! ❀️

    Like

  5. To my wonderful and oldest granddaughter – Brittani,
    That was truly written from your heart ❀️. You have come a long way since I first saw you 23 years ago in a little town in Texas. You are a Texas girl for sure. You and Michael have also promoted me to being a great grandfather to Zoey. Your Mom and I remember those days like it was yesterday. One day you will be where I am talking to your children, grandchildren and great grandchildren and you will cry with joyful love ❀️.
    Loving you and your family from Your Texas Family

    Like

Leave a Reply

